A winter walk

I took a walk yesterday, through the neighborhood I grew up in. It’s, crazy? strange? interesting? exploring this place, after going to college in Minnesota for four years, and having come back to stay at the house I grew up in here in DC. And here I’ve been going back and forth to work every day and not even noticing how different it feels from walking two blocks to the elementary school. I see a sign up at the school labeling it a “Peaceable School Zone” – I don’t remember it being there before.

I cross Western Ave into Maryland, and I notice almost immediately differences in the sizes of the houses and the lawns, the paving of the streets. Hey, I didn’t know my street dead-ended in a cul-de-sac, and I lived here how many years?

I’ll bet I see more if I take a walk in this snow today too…

Things I’ve been chewing on: tortilla crisis, talkin’ climate, measuring happiness, nature’s middlemen in danger, and triple-bottom-line MBA programs – is GWU in my future?

Leave a Reply

