“We dance to the earth, we dance to the water…”

I realized that in writing that last post, I neglected to mention one of the ways I personally will be celebrating World Water Day – I will be playing the synthesizer in the pit band for my old junior high school’s version of “Once On This Island,” a musical which features, among other things, a god of water.

This show has in the past year become one of my favorite musicals – it was the last musical I taught at the summer camp and easily one of the best. It’s full of great harmonies and island-y dance beats. And it tells a beautiful story.

If you’re interested, and you’re in the area, come check it out – it’s at Alice Deal Junior High School (on Fort Drive, a few blocks from Tenleytown metro) and starts at 7:30 tomorrow and Friday.

Leave a Reply

